How to Read More than 1 Book at a Time

This is what my Goodreads “Currently Reading” looks like on a regular basis.

I have to admit that even for me, 5 books is A LOT! This list is somewhat a product of intention and also partially a product of accident. This post will mainly focus on the intentional parts, but I will briefly address the “accidents” just to see if anyone else can relate.

The last two books listed have of course been on this list longest. “The Push” by Ashley Audrain is mostly not my fault though. I borrowed it on Libby, took a little too long to find time to listen to it, and by the time I was 3/4 of the way through it, I had to return it. And since then, there has been a consistent 10 person wait time! Again, sort of my fault (for not reading faster), but I will get it done once my hold comes back around.

The second book on the list, “I am the Grand Canyon: The Story of the Havasupai People” by Stephen Hirst, is not truly being read consistently enough to be on my “Currently Reading” list. I am fascinated by this people group and truly do want to work through this book eventually, but my attention is too divided by other things right now. So, while it still hangs on this list, there is little active reading going on. Regardless, that still leaves three books that I am actively reading. How do I do it? And Why?


I promise that reading multiple books at once is not as crazy as it may seem (or maybe you do the same thing and you are just feeling grateful right now that someone is as absurd as you!). The main things that I do to keep my multi-book reading organized: different genres and different mediums.

If I was reading three mysteries at the same time, I would surely be confused. If I was attempting to physically read all my books, I would surely have no time! So the key is to have variety. It allows me to read only what I’m truly in the mood for and have options based on my current capacity.

Let me break it down for the list above.

I started “The Farm” by Joanne Ramos just the other day as my current audiobook. I have come to love audiobooks as an adult, married woman because I am able to throw in some headphones and enjoy a good book even while I am cooking and cleaning around the house. It makes chores more exciting, and I can get through books faster. I still prefer physical books, but the convenience of audiobooks can’t be beat. Also, this book is a dystopian/suspense/thriller novel, and none of the other books I am currently reading fit that category.

The next book is a commentary/study book. I am attending a women’s Bible study which is covering the book of James (from the Bible) and using this companion book, so it’s a pretty small book that I will be working through slowly throughout the course of the study. It’s a physical book, but it doesn’t take up much time to read it periodically in preparation for the monthly study. So it’s not a very difficult book to have included on this list.

The final book is my current Christian devotional book, “Suffering is Never for Nothing” by Elisabeth Elliot and Joni Eareckson Tada. I try to always read a devotional book that is sometimes commentary-esque, but other times it just has Godly wisdom. This is a beautiful book about suffering that just provides some quick, helpful wisdom as I read it a few days a week during my quiet time.

Now what I don’t have on the list right now (or what the Grand Canyon book is supposed to be) is a “fun” book that I physically read. I have so many books that I want to read physically but not enough time or energy for them, so I try to have one that I am always picking away at, but right now I just don’t have one lined up that has drawn my attention enough. Again, if I did have one, it would be a totally different genre than my audiobook so that I could keep the two straight.


I enjoy having a variety of books to read. It makes me feel like I’m working my way through more books (whether that’s true or not), it allows me to pick up a book at any time that I know I’m interested in, and it keeps my mind stimulated as I switch between them all!

Let me know in the comments if you think my reading strategy is crazy or if you can relate. And tell me what book(s) you’re reading right now!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started