May Book Recommendations

Although May is still part of spring, I feel like it’s our entrance into the summer. I imagine picnics in the sunshine and butterflies fluttering around. School is wrapping up leading to busy-ness but also upcoming freedom. May includes a lot of different emotions which means a variety of books can fit whichever mood you’re in!

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Ann Brashares

It has been a while since this book series (and its movie adaptation) were popular, but I would still recommend checking it out again today! From the cover to the topic – this is a feel-good May read. We follow four friends from high school who spend their summers in very different situations and pass around a “magic” pair of pants. These pants fit them all somehow, and the pants are a representation of their friendship staying together even as they are separated over the summer.

Going Vintage

Lindsey Leavitt

I think this book emanates freedom as our main character leaves behind an ex who cheated on her and tries to find happiness in “going vintage.” I read this on a whim years ago, and I enjoyed it way more than I expected! I think this would be a super fun read in this springy, sunshine-y time of year.

Ghosted

Rosie Walsh

This is not the best book or even thriller that I’ve ever read, but because it is a light thriller/suspense, I think it’s perfect for this time of year. It’s a quick read with a mysterious tone and surprising ending that I think would be nice while you are finishing up your semester or enjoying a day at the park. In Ghosted, our main characters fall in love quickly after meeting, but then the man disappears for a month and doesn’t return any of the woman’s messages, so she begins to wonder what is going on and if they’ve really been totally truthful with each other.

(A)typical Woman: Free, Whole, and Called in Christ

Abigail Dodds

A book for Christian women providing them with truths about how to live out their faith and femininity is great any time of year! But I thought I would recommend this one in May because it was such an insightful, uplifting read for me that would be great for sunny spring days.

One response to “May Book Recommendations”

  1. I’m going to pick up your last suggestion, sounds interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started