July Book Recommendations

Now that it’s July, we are in the thick of the summer! It is likely very hot if you are north of the equator, and you are either spending your time exclusively indoors or in a body of water. I picture outdoor evening concerts, children’s summer camps, Fourth of July festivities, and lots of vacations. Let’s check out what books give me these sweaty July vibes!

Joyland

By Stephen King

As of now, this is the only Stephen King novel I have read (although I would love to read more – leave your suggestions in the comments), and it was phenomenal! This is a shorter read and not intensely magical or horror. It’s a super fun, quirky, atmospheric read that is great for a summer vacation.

Radical

By David Platt

If you’re looking for a valuable Christian read during your time off this summer, check this one out! David Platt is incredibly motivating to live life radically for Christ. When I read it, it lit a fire under me to value and prioritize the right things in life, and I think the summer is a great time to reprioritize your life and refocus on Christ.

Jesus Land

By Julia Scheeres

This is a tough read, but a very interesting one. Especially as a Christian, this is a sad story of abuse to consume, but I think it’s important to remain aware of these situations. It revolves around a “Christian” reform school in the summer, so I still think July is the perfect time to read it, but also understand that it won’t be the most glamorous novel for you this summer.

The Glass Castle

By Jeanette Walls

Another difficult yet fascinating piece of literature! This novel is a memoir that follows the life of an incredibly eccentric family and their questionably neglectful lifestyle. You will feel immersed into Jeannette Walls’ life, adventure with her, and sympathize alongside her.

One response to “July Book Recommendations”

  1. Nice list of book recommendations! As a fellow book lover, I’m always on the lookout for new titles to read, and your suggestions have truly sparked my interest.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started