September Book Recommendations

Thank goodness we are finally to September! Fall is starting, a cool breeze is in the air, leaves are filling the grass. The change of season is such a sweet time of year, and I imagine sweet, comforting, nostalgic books to go with it. It’s also officially the time of year when school is back in swing, so I also picture educational, school-centered reads. Let’s see what books give ME September vibes!

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Stephen Chbosky

Starting with a novel that automatically transports me to high school and fall feelings: The Perks of Being a Wallflower. This is a hard story to read but relatable in so many ways. The high school that the novel is based on (and where the author attended) is actually the school district I grew up in which makes this book even more impactful for me.

The Reason for God

Tim Keller

Another one that I think would be good at the start of a new school year because you will learn so much by reading it! This book is a phenomenal look at some of atheists’ common claims and skepticism toward Christianity and Keller’s helpful commentary on how to respond or answer these tough questions. I think this is a super important read for all Christians and a book that should be referred back to often.

Eleanor & Park

Rainbow Rowell

While the one and only time I read this was back n high school, any time I think about it, it brings back sweet, nostalgic feelings just like I would expect September to do. This is a YA romance that I remember being a super enjoyable, quick read!

Nancy Drew

Carolyn Keene

ANY Nancy Drew mystery!! I know this is again a middle grades or YA read, but these books are the epitome of nostalgia for me. I have such fond memories of reading so many of them, and they also automatically make me picture a fall setting for some reason even though I know they take place over a variety of seasons and times. Just pick one up when you need something cozy this month!

One response to “September Book Recommendations”

  1. I’m always ready to read a great new book or two. I’ll check out some of these recommendations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started