Kings Kaleidoscope Concert & Album Review

This August, Kings Kaleidoscope released their much anticipated and self-titled album, Kings Kaleidoscope. And it did not disappoint! There are some real winners on this one, and I’m so glad to have another new album of theirs to listen to (especially because Baptized Imagination wasn’t my favorite). Alongside the album release, they also are on tour again, and my husband and I have had the exciting privilege to see them live!! So I wanted to document my thoughts on the new album and the concert experience for anyone that may be interested in checking them out.

Kings Kaleidoscope Album Review

Favorite Song: Alright Kid

Least Favorite Song: 123 Fantasy

Ranking among other KK albums: 4/6

I think my favorite part of this album is the upbeat vibe. Especially after the kind of dreary feeling of Baptized Imagination, this was a refreshing sound. Every song makes you feel so hopeful and joyful (even though JOY is on the other album and not this one…).

One of our biggest criticisms is the fact that, once, again, we are given a relatively short album. We have wondered what it would have been like if Baptized Imagination and Kings Kaleidoscope had just been one album from the beginning that could have told a cohesive, transformative story. I don’t know for sure how it would have flowed or if we would have liked it, but the short album just feels incomplete in some ways.

One of the more surprising aspects of the album was the change to All the Emotions which I reviewed when it was first released. I loved this song and could not wait to see what the album around it would be like. I was so surprised though when listening through the album for the first time and hearing a slightly different version of All the Emotions. While I love the original version (and it’s hard to get that out of my head), I do think the changes makes it so much more impactful and emotive.

And of course, the crazy sound mixing and variety of instruments always astounds me in their music, and this album delivers!

Kings Kaleidoscope Concert Review

I can’t say anything but wow! This concert was one of the best nights of my life! We were surrounded by so many other huge KK fans, and the performance was perfection! They played a good variety of songs from across their albums, and it was so exciting getting to sing along to some of my favorite songs live! I was particularly impressed with the full set of instruments used and the awesome mixing of lights on stage. It was such a fantastic concert experience and I highly recommend checking out their music and getting tickets to their upcoming concerts!

Let me know what you think of the album or concert if you’ve experienced either! And, if you’re interested in getting more details about the making of this album (and Kings Kaleidoscope as a whole), check out this great interview on YouTube!

One response to “Kings Kaleidoscope Concert & Album Review”

  1. I haven’t heard of Kings Kaleidoscope before but now I definitely want to check them out. Thank for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started