October Book Recommendations

October is by far one of the easiest months to recommend books because it’s the month where any spooky, mysterious, or cozy book fits – lots of options! I am typically simultaneously excited for the haunted houses and the pumpkin decorations. There’s a chill in the air and a pumpkin spice latte in hand. Let’s see what books I recommend for this wonderful fall month.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Ransom Riggs

I think this is the absolute perfect October read! Riggs creates an enchanting, mysterious, and mildly spooky world where some people have unique abilities. This book is wonderfully atmospheric and so fun at any age! It’ll feel like you’ve been transported to a world that feels like never-ending Halloween.

Bird Box

Josh Malerman

This book was made famous by the Netflix film featuring Sandra Bullock. I liked the book more than the movie, so I would highly recommend this spooky apocalyptic (?) read. We are dropped into a world where people are suddenly going mad and dying from simply seeing something. We then follow a woman and several other characters as they navigate this new, scary, unknown world.

Leave the World Behind

Rumaan Alam

This book is a questionable recommendation, and it likely won’t be enjoyed by all. The plot of this apocalyptic novel is almost in the background, and we are never fully resolved of the main conflict. We mainly follow a family staying at an AirBnb when suddenly the owners of the AirBnb return out of nowhere claiming there’s something weird going on out in the rest of the world. This book banks on the mysterious premise and eerie vibes which I thoroughly enjoyed. It’s just a pretty slow burn.

The Goose Girl

Shannon Hale

It’s been a while since I read this sweet fantasy, and I can’t say it’s one of my favorite books ever, but I am also not always the biggest fantasy fan. I think the author does a wonderful job of building out the world for us and immersing us in the magic that’s involved. It’s a super fun and entertaining read that would be the perfect magical, whimsical story for a cozy October!

4 responses to “October Book Recommendations”

  1. thanks for the ideas!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. christineleibbrand Avatar
    christineleibbrand

    So many fun recommendations! I hadn’t heard of some of these, and I’ve always wanted to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Thanks for the great recs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been looking for some fall book ideas, so thank you for sharing! Somehow, I’ve avoided Ms. Peregrine for like a decade now LOL – this may be my time!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t remember coming across these books suggestions. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children looks like a interest book. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started